Episode 114

July 23, 2020


TMP 114 Mark Bingham Mixes It Up

Hosted by

Manny Chevrolet René Coman
TMP 114 Mark Bingham Mixes It Up
Troubled Men Podcast
TMP 114 Mark Bingham Mixes It Up

Jul 23 2020 | 01:13:58


Show Notes

The producer, arranger, composer, and Piety St. Studio owner cut his teeth as a teenage songwriter signed to Elektra Records and an apprentice in the late 60s studios of NYC and L.A. Mark hung out with the Flying Burrito Brothers at the Whiskey and was seen as fresh meat at the Troubadour. Allen Ginsberg, REM, Marianne Faithfull, John Scofield, Sun Ra, and Hal Wilner are just a few of the projects he’s been a part of. The new Michot’s Melody Makers record, “Cosmic Cajuns From Saturn,” is the latest in his psychedelic journey. Mark’s stopover with the Troubled Men may be his strangest trip yet. Topics include an illness, a firing, Walter Mercado, “Judy”, Cabaret”, masking, a scam, pet sedatives, women doctors, Danny Fields, Elektra Records, an assault, a Yale happening, a fight with William Styron, the 70s Village, the Screaming Gypsy Bandits, dates with the Dolls, Glenn Branca, the Social Climbers, a John Cale story, Marty Thau, the Letterman show, N.O. music politics, an ad agency, the Boiler Room studio, an N.A. meeting, new music, Julie Odell, Sonic Youth, a lucky man, a Bob Marley story, Nouveau Electric Records, Louis Michot’s work ethic, good neighbors, and much more. Support the podcast [here.](https://www.paypal.me/troubledmenpodcast) Subscribe, review, and rate (5 stars) on Apple Podcasts, Spotify, or almost any podcast source. Follow on social media, share with friends, and spread the Troubled Word. Intro music: Styler/Coman Outro music: “La Jument De Michot” by Michot’s Melody Makers from “Cosmic Cajuns From Saturn” on [Nouveau Electric Records.](http://nouveauelectricrecords.com)

Other Episodes